The Marble Hill Society

House Tours and Events

 

Visit the House


Marble Hill House is now open for guided tours until 31st August 2017.  
Tours take place at the following times:
Sat: 10.30am & 12pm.
Sun: 10.30am, 12pm, 2.15pm & 3.30pm.
Tours last 1.5 hours.

House closed at all other times except for tours pre-booked for parties (phone 020 8892 5115 or 0370 333 1181)

The house will close at the end of August 2017 and reopen in late summer 2018 when the "Marble Hill Revived" project is complete.  See separate page on this website for news on the project.


The Park is open from April to October daily 7am - 7pm and the Cafe from 10am - 5pm

During other months the park closes at 4pm

 

Events at the house and in the park

Events open to both members and non members are set out on the separate Member Events page of this website

 

Visiting after the "Marble Hill Revived" project is completed

Over the next two years English Heritage - supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund and Big Lottery Fund - plans to restore Henrietta Howard's lost garden, which lay directly between the house and the river. Key features, based on a detailed plan made in about 1752, will be recreated for the first time, including a ninepin bowling alley, flower gardens, terraces and serpentine paths. The restoration will not only reveal the structure of the historic landscape, but also uncover the part Henrietta played in its creation, and reveal how house and garden were designed as one.

The new interpretation will re-animate the house with tales of the vibrant cast of characters around Henrietta, from family members to visitors to pet dogs. It will explore the highs and lows of her sometimes turbulent life, and reveal how 18th-century Marble Hill brimmed with activity - from entertaining on a grand scale in the Great Room to intimate conversations over tea in the Breakfast Parlour. Lost furnishings, such as a magnificent peacock table for the Great Room and a bed with embroidered hangings for Miss Hotham's bedroom, will be recreated. Essential repairs will also be carried out, including the repair and redecoration of the masonry, external joinery, and roof repairs.

After the project is completed, the house will be open free of charge five days a week and the 19th-century Stable Block transformed into a visitor centre.

English Heritage want as many people as possible to share their views about how the house and park should be developed. For more information please see the Marble Hill Revived pages on English Heritage's website (www.english-heritage.org.uk), complete a comments card in the house or email the Audience Development Manager, Kate Pitt: kate.pitt@english-heritage.org.uk



You can find out more here.